The opposite of selfish

Skylyn Ash Lucifer
2 min readNov 28, 2021

--

It is the opposite of selfish to realize that I can’t give you everything you deserve to have access to.

It doesn’t matter you are healthy if I am limiting your well-being; it is the opposite of selfish to enable your wellness to be as great as it can be.

It is the opposite of selfish to want the best for you, and to recognize that’s not me.

It is the opposite of selfish to remove the burden of your life from our lives, when of selfishness is how I brought you here.

It is the opposite of selfish to recognize reality as one that was not prepared for you.

It is the opposite of selfish to recognize that this reality has not been made-up; let alone to keep you in mind as it should have.

I was selfish.

I was selfish to bring you into this world under selfish means.

When I became your Dama I vowed to myself and to you that I will always be honest in all regards of you.

And to be honest, we didn’t set this life up for you.

It is truth that I will honestly tell you that we didn’t want you.

It is truth, the false pretenses you were raised under.

You were brought into this world through the light in misconceptions of reality, intertwined in blind faith to bring us the gift that we didn’t deserve: You.

I will be honest and tell you that the last thing I want to do is continue the instability and lacking self-awareness that was the false pretense I birthed you into this world under.

I have always vowed to you, and to myself inspired by you, that throughout your life I will be nothing but brutally honest and wise-acting.

I will never live in ways that can provide detriment to your life; in me you can always believe.

I hope you do once you are old enough to choose who is your family. I am always here for you.

If I can do anything, maybe I can let you go.

I could never remove you from existence and never would I try.

I can’t regret you so long as I don’t raise you with regret.

Thoughtfully, we’re deciding to choose more suitable people to be parents to you.

I will always be the person who gave birth to you. I will always be your Dama.

Without regret, I will always be here for you. And that is what I’m choosing to do for you and for me.

And for so much more.

--

--